confidence

Every day I continue to celebrate my life. I love my life & I love how well everything has begun to pan out for me. Not in a, ‘it’s so much better than everyone else’s kinda way, but it’s just been good. Sure I stress, I stress a lot. Between two jobs, school, & having a social life, I would have to be insane not to stress. I stress, like any human being, but I don’t let it consume me. I think that’s the key everyone’s been searching for. I know I’m not the first to discover this, but I’ve learned this within myself. I cannot stress & panic about things out of my control. For instance, ‘when will my professor have my test graded?’, or in a more clique sense, ‘I think that person is attractive, & interesting, & dynamic. Do they think that way about me too?’.

Let’s take example #1; you professor is taking forever to grade your test and you just want to know how you did on the exam. Ask yourself this, what if you did bad, what are you going to do to change it? There isn’t much you can do to change it. It’s in the PAST 99% of the time you will be incapable of fixing that terrible exam grade. Now if you do well on the exam, what now? You did well & you stressed for nothing. You set yourself back over nothing. Okay, now example #2; you’ve found the perfect person & now all you can think about is if you’re perfect for them too. I used to be the worst offender of this. I would meet someone, or not even meet them, just see someone that I think is this illusion of perfect for me. I would let it consume me. I drove myself insane when I was younger thinking I needed a boyfriend. I thought that if I met a nice boy that called me pretty, I would feel pretty. Saying it now, it sounds ridiculous, doesn’t it?

Confidence.

That’s what I want to discuss. That’s what this all dwindles down to. Confidence. If you have confidence in yourself, you won’t stress if you did well on that test because you will KNOW you did well. You won’t stress if that person likes you back because you’re confident in yourself enough to know that with or without them you are absolutely perfect. You know that they’re the ones missing out if they put you down. I learned this the hard way, but it’s an important lesson to learn. You will do so much better, feel so much better, be so much better if you just take the time to love yourself.

Sometimes you just have to pretend. Pretend that you’re confident if you have to. Most people are so caught up within their own heads, they won’t even notice. Once you start pretending, eventually you won’t have to pretend anymore. Eventually, you’ll be that person.

Now, let’s just get this straight, I am not perfect. I am far from perfect, but I just believe in myself. We all need to believe in ourselves just a little more each day. One of my favorite quotes comes from Leonardo Da Vinci & it reads,

‘It had long since come to my attention that people rarely sat back and let things happen to them. They went out and happened to things.’

So I challenge you to go make things happen. Take every day on like a new challenge to help you grow more confident within yourself.

Leave a Reply

