An Open Letter to My Best Friend

You are a saint. An absolute saint.

You deal with me at my lowest points and my highest. I can be a handful sometimes (most of the time) but you are always right by my side; by my side when I’m crying about boys or crying from laughing so hard. I truly don’t see how you deal with my hangry tendencies, but you do somehow. My hangry tendencies and my slightly bratty attitude, but again, you’re still here.

You have comforted me at the times that I’ve needed you most. You’ve been there for me when I receive bad news and help it hurt less. You know how to make me smile when all I want to do is cry. You have never let me down.

You always encourage me. I have received pep talks from you that have led me to make such bold choices that have changed my life positively. Likewise, you support my bold choices if you know they make me happy (even if you don’t agree with them) and are there to hold my hand when those decisions don’t necessarily work out the way I want them to. You’re there for me when I cry from the pain. You are there to pick me right back up again and tell me that I’m so much better than this.

You are probably the funniest person I’ve ever met. Our jokes are so dumb and make absolutely no sense, but regardless I find them hilarious. I never laugh as hard with anyone else. Memories aren’t the same without you, but most of the good memories are made with you anyway.

You are a superstar. There is honestly no other way to describe you. You just outshine most of the general population. And maybe I am biased because you are my best friend, but you are my favorite person to be around. Even when you’re annoying me, I still would rather be around you.

You and I have had some of the craziest adventures together. By anybody else’s standard of crazy, our adventures are probably subpar, but any adventure with you is always worth while. Late night ice cream runs. Sleeping in your car. Watching the sunrise after staying up too long.

You’re the best thing to ever happen to me. You only want to see me happy and I am so lucky I have you for that. You only have my best interest in mind when you tell me not to do something. I might fight you on it, but you stand your ground because like I said, you always have my best interest in mind.

You are my person. My soulmate. People always expect your soulmate to be the person you fall in love with, get married to, have children with, live the rest of your life with. But why can’t you be my soulmate? My person? You know absolutely everything about me. You know me better than I know myself.

You care about me so much. I think everyone should have a best friend like you. Everyone would be so lucky if they did. The world would probably be a better place if they did. You would do anything for me, and you know I would do anything for you. Thank you for being the coolest person I know. I love you!

 

Leave a Reply

