20/80

You can’t live your life waiting for the moment to be perfect. The moment is never going to be 100% perfect. That’s just a fact. The reality is, is that nothing is ever going to be completely perfect.

If you continue to put something off for the sake of perfection, you’re waiting for a moment that may never come around. If you want something, go for it. If you keep waiting  around you’re letting yourself waste your time. Life is just happening around you and you’re going to miss out.

I was once told about this 20/80 philosophy.

Although I had this philosophy originally explained with the perspective of love in mind, I think it’s application to life is very simple.

Life can be broken down into moments of 20/80. You will encounter moments where 80% of that moment will be perfect. Then there will be 20% percent of that moment that is not nearly as perfect. Would you not enjoy that moment in its entirety just because of the 20%?

For example, I love Disneyland. I love Disneyland more than anything else in the world, but I don’t necessarily love having to stand in long lines at Disneyland. The 80% is Disneyland, the 20% are the lines. Because my love for Disneyland dominates this discomfort, I don’t worry about that 20%.

This is how I like to live my life. I hear people putting things off in life because the time just doesn’t feel right. Then I ask, when will the time be right? When will you know if the time is right? If you have that 80%, why not just go for it? You will spend much less time watching life pass you by and much more time experiencing it.

I have explained this to people and I’ve had people say that you’d be settling. I strongly disagree with this idea. It’s in no way settling if the 80% is there. Like I’ve said, the reality is nothing in life is ever going to be 100%.

I will admit, it is sometimes hard to see past the 20%. When you recognize that 80%, though, when it’s right in front of you, embrace it. Take it and run with it. Live your life wholeheartedly through that 80%. I believe if you continue to live your life taking in the 80% you will experience your life the way you should be experienced.

One thought on “20/80

Leave a Reply

