Inside Out

As we know, I speak very highly of the movie Inside Out. My love for that movie is undying. I would be able to quit my job if I had a dollar for every time I’ve seen it. It’s honestly hard for me to put into words my adoration for this movie, but I’m going to try my best.

* If you have never seen this film, and plan to enjoy watching it without any spoilers, then I advise to watch it before reading this. 

I think the reason I love this movie so much is because I myself am extremely in touch with my emotions. I feel highly emotional about any situation. This movie does an amazing job of breaking down our general, most impactful emotions, into characters. I like to say they map out the primary colors of emotions.

In case you don’t remember what primary colors are, here’s a little refresher. There are both primary and secondary colors. Primary colors are blue, green, yellow, and red. Secondary colors are any colors that come from these primary colors mixing.

So, I see Riley’s five emotions: Joy, Sadness, Anger, Disgust, and Fear, as the emotional primary colors. These are primary emotions that can be mixed in order to achieve a more complex feeling. I feel like this is why we see Riley’s emotional memories become mixed by the end of the film; she is experiencing more complex emotions.

At age 11, almost 12, Riley is facing a major change in her life. At that point in your life, no matter who you are, you are undergoing phycological changes. Not only is Riley going through this, but she is moving across the country.

Now I don’t know about you, but nothing about middle school was fun for me. As Riley is growing up and experiencing the world in a different way, she is experiencing these complex emotions. As we age we begin to feel things in a complex manner, not only feel, but think in a complex manner.

Because I feel so strongly about embracing the way you feel, I love that this film breaks down our emotions. Obviously, this is such a small sliver of our emotions and an extremely simple way of explaining them, but keeping it simple is important. Keeping it simple helps people, especially children, understand what they’re feeling. I think it’s important to know how to decipher your emotions from a young age.

Being able to decipher your emotions gives you the ability to hold on to whatever emotion that makes you, you. Joy is the emotion that makes Riley, Riley. Recognize the way you’re feeling and don’t lose yourself in the emotion that’s not you. Let’s Root for Each Other and root for ourselves to keep hold of who we are.

One thought on “Inside Out

Leave a Reply

